Top of page
Skip to main content
Main content

Stokes Award

The Darrell Stokes award recognizes a Biology major who has made significant contributions to the Department of Biology and the broader Emory Community.

Department of Biology Award given in honor of Darrell Stokes

This award recognizes significant contributions to the Department of Biology and the broader Emory Community. The Darrell Stokes Award is a $1,000 award given to one senior, graduating Biology major who has contributed to both the Department of Biology and the Emory community.  This student shows excellent academics, is creative, and has shown leadership in the department.

Applications are now being accepted.  Deadline is Friday, March 26, 2021.

To apply, send the following to Malia Escobar at

  • A 1-2 page essay about your contribution to Emory (academic or non-academic).
  • Unofficial transcript.
  • Letter of support (from a faculty member).
  • Any other material you feel will help your application.

The awardee is strongly encouraged to attend the Biology Department reception following commencement where the award is publicly announced.

2022 Stokes Awards Recipient

This year's winner, Uma Alappan, was a Robert W. Woodruff Merit Scholar on the pre-med track. Uma graduated with highest honors in Biology (BS) for her work with the Emory School of Medicine lab of Dr. George R. Beck studying the effect of dietary phosphorus on incidence of lung cancer metastasis to bone. Because Uma has studied dietary phosphorus for over 6 years and has nationally presented & published her work in national professional societies like the American Society of Nephrology, her thesis is a culmination of years of hard work. During her 3rd year at Emory, Uma was inducted into the Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society — America’s most prestigious academic honors society with appreciation for success in liberal arts and sciences education.
Uma Alappan
This year's award went to Uma Alappan 22C.
Read More

Uma Alappan2022
Amulya Marellapudi2021
Arthur Menezes2020
Stefan Farrugia2019
Michelle Skelton2018

Joan Shang


Ryan Sutherland


Gregory Paul Fricker


Julia Ann Laudick


Kiefer Daniel Hock


Yan Chen


Christopher Jackson


Shahein Holmes Tajmir


Alexandra Kamins


Bhavya Sharad Doshi