Top of page
Skip to main content
Main content

Graduate Students


Graduate students from six of the eight programs offered by the Graduate Division of Biological and Biomedical Sciences conduct research in the Department of Biology. The department also supports graduate students from the Wallace H. Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering (BME), a joint effort between Georgia Tech, Laney Graduate School, and the Emory School of Medicine,  and we support graduate students from the Emory Department of Physics. 

 Julia De Amorim

Email:    julia.amorim@emory.edu

Advisor:  Anita Corbett

Research Interests:  Julia is a PhD candidate in the Biochemistry, Cell, and Developmental Biology (BCDB) program. Her research focuses on mechanisms of RNA turnover/processing and how these mechanisms are important in DNA damage repair.


Carly Lancaster

Email:    carly.laurel.lancaster@emory.edu 
Advisor:  Anita Corbett

Research Interests: xxx

 


Maria Sterrett

Email:    maria.carson.sterrett@emory.edu 
Advisor:  Anita Corbett

Research Interests: xxx

 


Ziben Zhou

Email:    ziben.zhou@emory.edu
Advisor:  David Gorkin

Research Interests: xxx

 


 

Dakshitha Anandakumar

Email:      dananda@emory.edu

Advisor:  Robert Liu

Research Interests: XXXXXXX 

 


 

Miranda Adams

Email:      miranda.adams@emory.edu
Advisor:  Jennifer Spangle, Anita Corbett

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 

Edwin Corgiat

Email:      edwin.bernard.corgiat@emory.edu
Advisors:  Kenneth Moberg, Anita Corbett

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


Christine Doronio

Email:      christine.doronio@emory.edu
Advisor:  Bill Kelly

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 

 

 


Alexander Gulkagulka-alexander.jpg

Email:      alexander.gulka@emory.edu

Advisor:  David Gorkin

Research Interests: The BRG1/BRM-associated factors (BAF) chromatin remodeling complexes play a critical role in the regulation of transcriptional programs through their function in establishing accessible chromatin at cis-regulatory elements (cREs). I am interested in the mechanisms and molecular features that govern recruitment of BAF to these cREs in cell-type and stimulus-specific manners. Additionally, I hope to elucidate mechanisms by which mutations in BAF subunits lead to dysfunction and/or mislocalization of these complexes, with a specific focus on interrogating BAF mutations associated with human neurodevelopmental disease. 

 

 


Lauren Hodkinson

Email:      lauren.jessica.hodkinson@emory.edu
Advisor:  Leila Rieder

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


Dylan Holder 

Email:      dylan.harris.holder@emory.edu
Advisor:  Roger Deal

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


Stephanie Jones

Email:      stephanie.karena.jones@emory.edu
Advisor:  Anita Corbett

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


Christy Kinney

Email:      christy.kinney@emory.edu
Advisor:  Anita Corbett

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


Ellen Krall

Email:      ellen.grace.krall@emory.edu
Advisor:  Roger Deal

Research Interests: I'm broadly interested in understanding the dynamics of DNA packaging in plants and how this packaging is modulated in response to internal and external signals. I'm currently investigating how histone variant H2A.Z is targeted in the genome of model plant organism Arabidopsis thaliana by protein MBD9.

 


Annie McPherson

Email:      amcphe3@emory.edu
Advisor:  Anita Corbett

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


Yonina Loskove

Email:      yonina.loskove@emory.edu
Advisor:  David Gorkin

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


Olivia Morrison

Email:      olivia.morrison@emory.edu
Advisor:  Jitendra Thakur

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


Thomas O'Haren

Email:      thomas.edward.o'haren@emory.edu
Advisor:  Leila Rieder

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


Brianna Silver

Email:      brianna.silver@emory.edu
Advisor:  Roger Deal

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


Courtney Willett

Email:      courtney.grace.willett@emory.edu
Advisor:  Roger Deal

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

Amber Coats

Email:      amber.nicole.coats@emory.edu
Advisor:  Katia Koelle

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


Megan Woods

Email:      mwoods9@emory.edu
Advisor:  Nic Vega

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

Sena Agezo

Email:      sena.agezo@emory.edu
Advisors:   Robert Liu, Gordon Berman

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


Jarildy Javier

Email:      jarildy.javier@emory.edu
Advisors:  Malavika Murugan, Larry Young

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


Taylor Kahl

Email:      taylor.marissa.kahl@emory.edu
Advisor:  Dieter Jaeger

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


Andrea Pack

Email:      andrea.r.pack@emory.edu
Advisor:  Sam Sober

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


Leila May Pascual

Email:      leila.may.pascual@emory.edu
Advisor:  Sam Sober

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


Maha Rashid

Email:      maha.haseeb.rashid@emory.edu
Advisor:  Dieter Jaeger

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


Yunmiao Wang

Email:      yunmiao.wang@emory.edu
Advisor:  Dieter Jaeger

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


 

Kanishk Jainkanishk_jain_photo.jpg

Email:      kanishk.jain@emory.edu

Advisors:  Gordon Berman

Research Interests: I use tools from Physics, Mathematics and Deep Learning to measure and model the behavioral and neural dynamics of freely moving animals.

 


 

Brent Allman

Email:      brent.elliott.allman@emory.edu
Advisors:   Katia Koelle, David Weissman

Research Interests:  Brent's research focuses on the within-host evolution of RNA viruses. In particular, his dissertation centers around the idea that when viruses co-infect a host cell, their protein products are treated as public goods. They developed mathematical and simulation models to address how the treatment of public goods impacts natural selection on within-host viral populations.

 


Carmen Alvarez

Email:      carmen.alvarez@emory.edu
Advisor:   Nic Vega

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


KM Barnett

Email:      kmbarn4@emory.edu
Advisor:   Dave Civitello

Research Interests: XXXXXXX 

 


Lynda Bradley

Email:      lynda.michele.bradley@emory.edu
Advisor:  Dave Civitello, Lance A. Waller

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


Jason Chen

Email:      jason.chen2@emory.edu
Advisors:  Nic Vega, Nicole Gerardo

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


Mackenzie Hoogshagen

Email:      mackenzie.hoogshagen@emory.edu

Advisors:  Japp de Roode, David Civitello

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


Mitchell Kendzel

Email:      mitchell.kendzel@emory.edu
Advisors:  Jaap de Roode, Lance A. Waller

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


Jordan Lewis

Email:      jordan.alexander.lewis@emory.edu
Advisor:  Levi Morran

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


Michael Martin

Email:      michael.martin2@emory.edu
Advisor:  Katia Koelle

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


Michelle McCauley

Email:      michelle.anne.mccauley@emory.edu
Advisor:  Levi Morran

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


Sandra Mendiola

Email:      sandra.mendiola@emory.edu
Advisors:  Nicole Gerardo, Dave Civitello

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


Xorla Ocloo

Email:      xorla.seyram.ocloo@emory.edu
Advisor:  Dave Civitello, Gonzalo M. Vazquez-Prokopec

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


Yeongseon Park

Email:      yeongseon.park@emory.edu
Advisor:  Katia Koelle

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


Jacoby Robinson

Email:      jacoby.robinson@emory.edu
Advisor:  Nicole Gerardo

Research Interests: XXXXXXX

 


Kelsey Shaw

Email:      kelsey.erin.shaw@emory.edu
Advisor:  Dave Civitello

Research Interests: I am interested in host-parasite interactions across scales and eco-immunology. I am currently studying the impact of host traits and community composition on the transmission of schistosomes, the causative agent of the Neglected Tropical Disease schistosomiasis. 

 


Kayla Stoy

Email:      kayla.stoy@emory.edu
Advisors:  Nicole Gerardo, Levi Morran

Research Interests: XXXXXXX